Answers To Your Workers’ Comp Questions

Obtaining workers' compensation benefits in Georgia can be a confusing business. That's why The Carnell Law Firm, LLC, is here to walk you through the process step by step. Don't hesitate to call our Atlanta-area office at 770-729-4809 to set up a free consultation today.

You can also read some frequently asked questions and answers here:

Do I have to work at my job a certain length of time before I qualify for benefits?

No, you don't have to be employed for a certain number of days to qualify. Even if you are injured your very first day on the job, you can still apply for workers' compensation benefits.

Can I get benefits for a pre-existing injury that was made worse?

In many cases, yes, you can get benefits if your job aggravated a pre-existing condition. However, workers' compensation will only pay to return you to the state of health you were in before the aggravation — not to return you to perfect health in general.

Can I choose my own doctor?

Yes and no. You are allowed to choose from the list of six or more physicians that your employer posted in your workplace. You are also allowed to make a one-time change from one doctor to another on the list, if you wish.

The exception to this is if you need emergency medical care. If the ambulance takes you to the hospital and you are treated by a random doctor, workers' compensation should still cover this treatment. Once the emergency is over, however, you must pick a physician from your employer's list.

How much money will I get?

The amount of money you receive will depend on a variety of factors, including whether your accident was "catastrophic" or not. Generally, catastrophic injuries (such as paralysis, severe burns or blindness) will qualify you to receive two-thirds of your normal weekly wage until you are either able to return to work or until you reach the maximum allowed in Georgia.

If your accident was not considered catastrophic, you will likely still receive two-thirds of your normal weekly wage. However, the checks will last for no more than 400 weeks or until you are no longer totally disabled from working.

When can I expect my first check?

If your injury prevents you from working for at least seven days, the insurance company should mail your first check to you within 21 days.

What happens if I was injured at work by a different company's negligence?

If you were injured by the carelessness or wrongdoing of someone other than your employer or coworker, you may have a personal injury case in addition to a workers' compensation case. For instance, you may have been driving on company business when you were hit by a drunk driver. In this type of situation, you can potentially recover money to compensate for your pain and suffering as well as for medical care and lost wages.

What happens if my workers' compensation claim is denied?

You have the right to appeal a denied workers' compensation claim. Let The Carnell Law Firm, LLC, assist you with this. Our attorney, Jason Carnell, can carefully review the details of your case and diligently assert your rights.

For more answers to your questions, call our Peachtree Corners law firm today at 770-729-4809 or email us to set up a free initial consultation with a lawyer.